William “Bill” Weitkemper has been chosen to receive the first Dr. Edward H. Robb Award as Boone County’s “Public Servant of the Year”.    The award was created by the Boone County Republican Central Committee as a way to remember and to honor Commissioner Ed Robb who died in office last October.

The non-partisan award was limited to full-time, non-elected employees of governments or special districts with offices in Boone County.

Wietkemper’s selection was made to recognize his contribution to the community as Sewer Maintenance Supervisor for the City of Columbia.  In the job since 1976, Weitkemper is a leader in his field and a mentor to the wastewater industry.

“Bill Weitkemper’s service to Columbia exemplifies the type performance that Ed Robb would expect of himself and others while he was serving the University, the State and the County,” said Cheri Reisch, vice-chair of the Republican Central Committee, who will present the award on Friday, February 24, 2012, at the Boone County Lincoln Days at The Courtyard Marriott in Columbia, Missouri at 6:30 p.m.

 “Republicans are strong believers in minimum government and we recognize to achieve that we need more dedicated public servants like Bill Weitkemper.   We want to assist in attracting conscientious employees to our local and state governments and think we can do that by recognizing and rewarding the truly dedicated and cost-conscious public servants,”  Reisch said during the award ceremony.

Weitkemper was nominated by Michael and Alison Martin, Bob Ross, Gerry Lisby and Steven Spydell.

Other nominees were C.K. Dykhouse, Legal Counsel to Boone County, nominated by State Representative Stephen Webber, and Deputy Sheriff Lance Robbins, nominated by Chris Smith.   

-- Media release